DACHSER & KOLB: USA

United States of America

Learn the most important information about the destination country for your time in the United States of America here.

The USA is a country of 50 states that occupy a large part of North America, with Alaska in the northwest of the continent and Hawaii in the Pacific. The most important cities on the Atlantic coast are New York, a global financial and cultural center, and the capital Washington, DC. The metropolis of Chicago in the Midwest is known for its influential architecture. Hollywood on the west coast, which is part of Los Angeles, is a famous location for the film industry.

Facts about the United States

DACHSER & KOLB: Capital

Capital City

Washington D.C.

DACHSER & KOLB: Population

Population

331.9 million

DACHSER & KOLB: Surface Area

Surface Area

3,796,928.627 mi² or 9.834.000 km²

DACHSER & KOLB: Continent

Continent

North America

DACHSER & KOLB: Official Language

Official Language

(American) English

Currency

US Dollar (USD)

Politics

The political system of the United States comprises the state institutions, the political decision-making processes and their results as the sum of the laws and regulations in the United States. It is based on the Constitution of 1787, which in turn incorporates Enlightenment theories of government. Due to its historical development, the foreign policy of the United States has become an unusually strong constant of the political system. In the 2019 Democracy Index, the United States ranks 25th out of 167 countries, making it an "incomplete democracy".

In the United States, the Democratic and Republican parties occupy the largest shares of the political landscape. It is therefore not unusual for the elections, which take place every four years, to usually see a Democratic candidate (most recently: Joe Biden) and a Republican candidate (most recently: Donald Trump) facing each other.

Political elections in the USA take place as follows. Every four years at the beginning of the election year, the respective party candidate is chosen internally. Voters do not vote directly for the president, but elect electors in their state. These electors represent a party. There are a total of 538 electors and the candidate who wins more electors in the respective state receives all the votes in that state. Whoever ends up with the majority of the 538 electors wins the presidential election.

DACHSER & KOLB: Vaccination Status

Climate

Due to its size, the United States has many different climate zones. It is a very diverse country in terms of nature. Parts of the USA have a tropical climate, such as Florida and Hawaii. In others, there is heat and drought where a desert extends over large areas of the country, as in Nevada. In the north of the United States, the temperature reaches minus degrees. But mild areas are not uncommon either.

The country has something to offer for every type of climate due to its diversity in terms of climate and nature. It is not unusual to spend your vacation within the country, as there is a lot to see.

DACHSER & KOLB: Languages in the Ivory Coast

Healthcare

Healthcare in the United States is of an excellent standard, characterized by state-of-the-art facilities and highly qualified doctors. Unlike in many other countries, there is no general statutory health insurance in the USA. Instead, many citizens bear their own medical costs, drawing on their savings. However, one alternative is to take out private health insurance to ensure financial security in the event of an emergency.

The public health insurance programs in the USA include Medicare, Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Despite the outstanding quality of healthcare, it is important to note that the US has the highest healthcare expenditure in the world. Therefore, adequate health insurance coverage is highly recommended to manage potentially high medical costs.

DACHSER & KOLB: Religions in the Ivory Coast

Economy

The United States has a gross domestic product per capita of 80,035 US dollars. The Gini coefficient of wealth describes the distribution of wealth in Germany. The indicator is an established, internationally comparable measure of wealth inequality. It is measured on a scale from zero to one. The higher the value, the greater the inequality. The Gini coefficient in the USA is expected to be 0.42 in 2024 (source: Statista).

In general, it can be said that the USA has a good standard of living. According to the national accounts in 2022, it can be deduced that the USA's gross domestic product per capita was 57% higher than that of Germany. The GDP per capita allows conclusions to be drawn about the standard of living in the respective country, but large parts of the United States are still characterized by poverty and it depends on which states you are in the USA

DACHSER & KOLB: Culinary on the Ivory Coast

National holiday

07.04.

Independence Day

Special features for electrical appliances in the USA

In general, there are two challenges if you want to use electrical appliances from another country: firstly, the plugs in the USA are different to those in Europe, and secondly, the voltage is different. In the USA, the voltage is 110 volts, whereas in Germany, Austria and Switzerland it is 230 volts.

However, there are some electrical appliances that are compatible with both voltages. In the case of chargers for laptops, cell phones and digital cameras, it can now be assumed that they can be operated with both 110V and 230V. It is therefore sufficient to use a simple adapter to be able to use these devices in the American power grid as usual. Find out in advance about the chargers for your electrical appliances.

DACHSER & KOLB: Infrastructure and Transportation on the Ivory Coast

FAQs for your stay in the United States

What does a move to the USA cost?

This cannot be said across the board. The cost of a move to the USA depends on a number of factors. On the one hand, it depends on whether the move is carried out by air or sea freight. On the other hand, the volume of the move is also very important. The more goods that need to be shipped, the higher the transportation costs. You can use our price calculator to calculate your costs for a move to the USA or another country with just a few clicks and receive a non-binding quote.

Are you interested in moving to United States or another destination country?

Then do not hesitate and contact us today.

Alexander Brugger

Teamlead Customer Service & Sales - AIR&SEA

DACHSER & KOLB: USA

Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika

Erfahren Sie hier die wichtigsten Ziellandinformationen für Ihren Aufenthalt in den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika

Die USA sind ein Land mit 50 Bundesstaaten, die einen Großteil von Nordamerika einnehmen, wobei sich Alaska im Nordwesten des Kontinents und Hawaii im Pazifik befindet. Die wichtigsten Städte an der Atlantikküste sind New York, ein globales Finanz- und Kulturzentrum, sowie die Hauptstadt Washington, DC. Die Metropole Chicago im Mittleren Westen ist für ihre einflussreiche Architektur bekannt. Das zu Los Angeles gehörende Hollywood an der Westküste ist ein berühmter Ort der Filmbranche.

Fakten zu den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika

DACHSER & KOLB: Hauptstadt

Hauptstadt

Washington D.C.

DACHSER & KOLB: Bevölkerung

Bevölkerung

331,9 Millionen

DACHSER & KOLB: Fläche

Fläche

9.834.000 km²

DACHSER & KOLB: Kontinent

Kontinent

Nord Amerika

DACHSER & KOLB: Offizielle Sprache

Offizielle Sprache

Englisch (amerikanisch)

Währung

US Dollar (USD)

Politik

Das politische System der Vereinigten Staaten umfasst die staatlichen Institutionen, die politischen Entscheidungsprozesse und deren Ergebnisse als Summe der Gesetze und Verordnungen in den Vereinigten Staaten. Es gründet auf der Verfassung von 1787, in die wiederum Staatstheorien der Aufklärung eingeflossen sind. Aufgrund der historischen Entwicklung ist die Außenpolitik der Vereinigten Staaten zu einer ungewöhnlich starken Konstante des politischen Systems geworden. Im Demokratieindex 2019 belegen die Vereinigten Staaten Platz 25 von 167 Ländern, womit sie als eine „unvollständige Demokratie“ gelten.

In den Vereinigten Staaten nehmen die Parteien der Demokraten und Republikaner die größten Anteile der politischen Landschaft ein. So ist es nicht ungewöhnlich, dass bei den Wahlen die alle vier Jahre stattfinden, sich in der Regel ein Kandidat der Demokraten (zuletzt: Joe Biden) und ein Kandidat der Republikaner (zuletzt: Donald Trump) gegenüber stehen.

Die politschen Wahlen in den USA laufen folgendermaßen ab. Alle vier Jahre zu Beginn des Wahljahres wird intern der jeweilige Kandidat der Partei bestimmt. Die Wähler stimmen nicht direkt für den Präsidenten, sondern wählen in ihrem Bundesstaat Wahlmänner und -frauen. Diese Wahlmänner/-frauen representieren eine Partei. Insgesamt gibt es 538 Wahlleute und der Kandidat, der im jeweiligen Bundesstaat mehr Wahlleute gewinnt, bekommt alle Stimmen dieses Staates. Wer am Ende die Mehrheit der 538 Wahlleute hat, gewinnt die Präsidentschaftswahl für sich.

DACHSER & KOLB: Impfstatus

Klima

Aufgrund seiner Größe haben die Vereinigten Staaten viele verschiedene Klimazonen. Es ist ein sehr vielseitiges Land in Bezug auf die Natur. In Teilen der USA herscht tropisches Klima wie in Florida und Hawaii. In anderen herscht Hitze und Trockenheit wo sich auch eine Wüste über große Gebiete des Landes erstreckt wie in Nevada. Im Norden der Vereinigten Staaten erreicht die Temperatur Minus-Grade. Aber auch milde Gebiete sind keine Seltenheit.

Das Land hat aufgrund seiner Vielseitigkeit in Sachen Klima und Natur für jeden Klima-Typen etwas zu bieten. Es ist nicht unüblich seinen Urlaub innerhalb des Landes zu verbringen, da man vieles sehen kann.

DACHSER & KOLB: Sprachen in der Elfenbeinküste

Gesundheitswesen

In den Vereinigten Staaten genießt die Gesundheitsversorgung einen hervorragenden Standard, der von modernsten Einrichtungen und hochqualifizierten Ärzten geprägt ist. Anders als in vielen anderen Ländern gibt es in den USA keine allgemeine gesetzliche Krankenversicherung. Stattdessen tragen viele Bürger ihre Krankheitskosten eigenständig und greifen dabei auf ihre Ersparnisse zurück. Eine Alternative besteht jedoch darin, eine private Krankenversicherung abzuschließen, um im Falle von Notfällen finanziell abgesichert zu sein.

Die öffentlichen Krankenversicherungsprogramme in den USA umfassen Medicare, Medicaid und das Children's Health Insurance Program. Trotz der herausragenden Qualität der Gesundheitsversorgung ist es wichtig zu beachten, dass die USA weltweit die höchsten Gesundheitsausgaben verzeichnen. Daher wird ein angemessener Krankenversicherungsschutz dringend empfohlen, um potenziell hohe medizinische Kosten zu bewältigen.

DACHSER & KOLB: Religionen in der Elfenbeinküste

Wirtschaft

Die Vereinigten Staaten haben 2023 ein Bruttoinlandsprodukt pro Kopf mit 80.035 US Dollar betragen. Der Gini-Koeffizient der Vermögen beschreibt die Vermögensverteilung. Der Indikator ist ein etablierter, international vergleichbarer Gradmesser für die Vermögensungleichheit. Er wird auf einer Skala von null bis eins gemessen. Je höher der Wert, desto größer ist die Ungleichheit. Der Gini-Koeffizient in den USA wird im Jahr 2024 voraussichtlich 0,42 betragen (Quelle: Statista).

Allgemein kann man sagen, dass die USA einen guten Lebensstandard haben. Laut volkswirtschaftlicher Gesamtrechnung in 2022, lässt sich ableiten, dass die USA mit einem Bruttoinlandsprodukt pro Kopf um 57% höher waren als Deutschland. Das BIP pro Kopf lässt Rückschlüsse auf den Lebensstandard im jeweiligen Land zurückschließen.Dennoch sind weite Teile der Vereinigten Staaten von Armut geprägt und es kommt drauf an in welchen Staaten man sich in den USA befindet

DACHSER & KOLB: Kulinarik an der Elfenbeinküste

Nationalfeiertag

04.07.

Tag der Unabhängigkeit

Besonderheiten für Elektrogeräte in den USA

Im Allgemeinen ergeben sich zwei Herausforderungen, wenn man Elektrogeräte aus einem anderen Land verwenden möchte: Zum einen sind die Stecker in den USA anders als in Europa, zum anderen ist die Stromspannung unterschiedlich. In den USA beträgt die Spannung 110 Volt, während sie in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz 230 Volt beträgt.

Es gibt jedoch einige Elektrogeräte, die mit beiden Spannungsvarianten kompatibel sind. Bei Ladegeräten für Laptops, Handys und Digitalkameras kann man mittlerweile davon ausgehen, dass sie sowohl mit 110V als auch mit 230V betrieben werden können. Daher genügt es, einen einfachen Adapter zu verwenden, um diese Geräte auch im amerikanischen Stromnetz wie gewohnt nutzen zu können. Informieren Sie sich daher im Vorfeld über die Ladegeräte Ihrer Elektrogeräte.

DACHSER & KOLB: Besonderheiten für Elektrogeräte in den USA

FAQs zum Aufenthalt in den Vereinigten Staaten

Was kostet ein Umzug in die USA?

Das lässt sich pauschal nicht sagen. Die Kosten für einen Umzug in die USA ist von einigen Faktoren abhängig. Zum einen ist entscheidend ob der Umzug per Luft- oder Seefracht erfolgt. Zum anderem ist auch das Umzugsvolumen von großer Bedeutung. Je mehr Umzugsgut versendet werden muss, desto höher sind die Transportkosten. Über unseren Preisrechner können Sie mit wenigen Klicks Ihre Kosten für einen Umzug in die USA oder ein anderes Land kalkulieren lassen und erhalten dafür ein unverbindliches Angebot.

Sie sind interessiert für einen Umzug in die USA oder ein anderes Zielland?

Dann zögern Sie nicht und kontaktieren Sie uns noch heute.

Alexander Brugger

Teamleitung Customer Service & Sales - AIR&SEA